Three important Acts were passed at recent sessions of the Quebec Legislature designed respectively to facilitate the medical studies of young physicians who pledge themselves to practise in rural areas, to subsidize the establishment of a School of Hygiene at the University of Montreal, and to launch a five-year program aimed at providing 2,000 additional beds for the control of tuberculosis.

Since 1926, a system of county health units has been gradually established. Each unit provides full-time public health service to a county or a group of two or three adjoining counties. There are now 64 county health units covering 74 counties; the Ministry of Health is responsible for their maintenance and operation; local contributions amount to $6 \cdot 5$ p.c. of the cost. Eighteen municipalities, such as the cities of Montreal, Quebec and Sherbrooke, have their own Health Bureaus.

Local health services include free dental, anti-tuberculosis, well-baby and immunization clinics, and consultation and home visits. These are in addition to the usual sanitation measures, the collection of vital statistics, the supply of biologicals, and health education. Hospitalization and certain forms of medical aid are supplied to indigents and the inhabitants of sparsely settled areas.

Drugs supplied by the Provincial Department to physicians and health units include vaccines, sera, antitoxins; a Federal grant pays for streptomycin for sanatoria patients and also helps to provide laboratory services to physicians and health units.

Public mental institutions are operated by the Health Department; tuberculosis sanatoria, operated chiefly under private and religious auspices, are supervised by the Department. Mental and tuberculosis institutions and hospitals are subsidized by Provincial and municipal grants; indigents are provided with hospital care through equal contributions of the hospital board, the municipality and the Province.

Ontario.—The Department of Health is organized under a Minister, a Deputy Minister who is also Chief Medical Officer, and an Assistant Deputy Minister. The Department carries on public health services through the following divisions: Public Health Administration; Public Health Nursing; Maternal and Child Hygiene; Dental Services; Epidemiology; Venereal Disease Control; Tuberculosis Prevention; Industrial Hygiene; Laboratory Services; Administration of Mental Hospitals; and Sanitary Engineering. There are also divisions for the supervision of certain aspects of medical treatment centres throughout the Province, including public general and private hospitals and nurse registration. Serving all divisions of the Department are the Legal Division and the Medical Statistics Division.

Public health legislation affecting water supplies, milk and food sanitation and all other forms of environmental sanitation is administered by the Department. Provincial public health nurses aid local Boards of Health in the organization and promotion of public health nursing services. The 15 branch laboratories (nine regional and six subsidized) carry out bacteriological and other examinations for clinics, hospitals and private physicians.

The Division of Industrial Hygiene is responsible for the control of occupational diseases and acts as adviser to the Factory Inspection Branch of the Labour Department, the Workmen's Compensation Board and to industry generally.

In addition to care provided through maternal and child health clinics, any resident mother may have one free prenatal examination; doctors are remunerated by the Provincial Government. Biologicals and other materials for the prevention and control of acute communicable diseases, insulin for diabetics and streptomycin for tuberculosis patients, are distributed free of charge by the Department.